YPG Digital Hosts Twitter Hackathon

Cincopa video hosting solution for your website. Another great product from Cincopa Send Files.

YPG Digital LogoIn support of YPG Digital’s second programming effort, roughly 25 YPG members from various houses gathered at the AAP offices on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 from 6:30PM – 8:30PM to undergo a Twitter boot camp. Expertise ranged from Twitter novices to Klout score masters who simply wanted to brush up on their technique. The hackathon was expertly and patiently led by YPG Planning Committee members Karl Jones (@karljones) , Assistant Editor, Grosset & Dunlap/PSS! at Penguin Group USA and Kelly Murphy (@iamkellymurphy) , Assistant Online Marketing Manager, Young Readers at Penguin Group USA, with a final guest presentation from Ryan Chapman (@chapmanchapman) , Associate Marketing Director of Atavist Books. All three panelists answered questions and provided feedback, from the basics to exploring tips and tools to broadcast your (or your publisher’s) message and generate discussion. Below please find a full outline of what was covered, along with an industry-specific chatlist to get you started.

YPG Digital
Twitter Hackathon
Wednesday, May 22, 2013

6:30 p.m. – Introduction and account creation (Beginner)

Introduction to Twitter
Selecting a Handle
Setting Up an Account
Searching for People/Organizations to Follow
#hashtags

7:00 p.m. – DMs, @, RT, #FF, Lists, Sharing Pictures and Mobile Apps
(Beginner – Intermediate)

Overview:

Direct Messages
Using the @ Sign to Tweet at Someone
Retweeting Followers’ Tweets
Participating in #FollowFriday (#FF)
Using Lists
Sharing Pictures
Using a Mobile App
Direct Messages
Another great Twitter tip is to use Direct Messages. Sometimes DMs (Direct Messages) you receive are spam, but DMs are a great way for people on Twitter to get in touch with you about a specific issue. DMs work like a mini email system, letting you private message people who you follow and follow you. Just like tweets, direct messages are restricted to 140 characters.
* Remember: you can only DM or receive DM if you are following and being followed by the other user.

Use @ Sign to Tweet at Someone
When you want to message someone in your Twitter feed, you just have to use @theirname for them to view what you said.
Keep in mind that all tweeting is public unless your account is locked, so if you’d like to privately share a link or other media, be sure toDM that person..
* Tip: When beginning a tweet with someone’s Twitter handle, use a period prior to @theirname (ex: .@YoungToPub is the best!!!) for the tweet to be viewable publicly.

Retweet Followers’ Tweets
If you want to share someone’s tweet,you can either add your content, then the letters “RT” before their tweet or you can use the retweet button on Twitter. On the mobile app, you can also use the “quote tweet” option.Participate in #FollowFriday
On Friday, people like to thank special followers for that week and you can do that by using #FF or #FollowFriday, then the names of your followers you want to mention.
This is a great way to thank followers who have RTed your posts during the week.
Why do #FF?
Great way to say thank you, helps strengthen your community on Twitter.
It’s a great way to keep yourself in front of your followers each week so they don’t forget you.

Use Lists
Using Lists is one of those Twitter tips that help you build customized feeds you can follow. If you’re a blogger, then you can have a list of Top Bloggers. You might want to make one with Top Authors or Top Publishers. Now when you go into that list’s feed, you will only see tweets from the bloggers you have added.
This is a great way to get away from the noise on your main feed, or tap into the noise focused on a specific segment of the industry. You can make lists for anything—team members, news outlets, local businesses, friends, family.

Share Pictures
1. Click the blue Compose new Tweet button.
2. Click or tap on the camera icon.
3. Select the image file you want to upload; if you’re tweeting with a smartphone, you will also have the option to take a photo.
4. Once a photo is selected, you will see a thumbnail image (or file name) appear as an attachment. Your Tweet’s character count will update to include the pic.twitter.com URL for your photo.
5. Type your message and select Tweet to post your message and photo.
Images can be .GIF, .JPEG, or .PNG files up to 3MB.Use A Mobile App
iOS and Android devices both have Twitter apps.
Twitter also still supports SMS texting tweets for “non-smart” phones.
7:25 p.m. – Pro Tips & Tricks (Intermediate)

1. Best time of day to tweet: Sat/Sun, 10am – noon, 8pm – 10pm
2. Keep your tweets below the max. character count so followers can add content in a RT.
3. Hashtags: keep ’em short!
4. Also try to include extra media or links for your best shot at engagement.
5. When at all possible, tweet in real time to stay relevant.
6. Know Why You’re Twittering
7. Share Compelling Content
8. Make Twitter Work for You
9. Maintain Your Privacy

7:30 p.m. – Conversation: Ryan Chapman of The Atavist

7:45 p.m. In-House Assignments

A. Write a tweet that uses all the different media elements learned about this evening.
B. Find a conversation in which one of the people you are following is now engaged in and contribute a tweet.

Homework:

Hoot Suite, Tweetdeck & Other 3rd Party Clients
Ex: HootSuite—
HootSuite is a social media management system for businesses and organizations to collaboratively execute campaigns across multiple social networks from one secure, web-based dashboard.
Launch marketing campaigns, identify and grow audience and distribute targeted messages using HootSuite’s unique social media dashboard. Streamline team workflow with scheduling and assignment tools and reach audiences with geo-targeting functionality. Invite multiple collaborators to manage social profiles securely, plus provide custom reports using the comprehensive social analytics tools for measurement.
Key social network integrations include Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Google+ Pages, plus a suite of social content apps for YouTube, Instagram, Tumblr and more.

Writer #Chats
Mondays

o #journchat Mondays PST: 5-8 pm MST: 6-9 pm CST: 7-10 pm EST: 8-11 pm
o #litchat PST: 1-2 pm MST: 2-3 pm CST: 3-4 pm EST: 4-5 pm
o #pblitchat PST: 7 pm MST: 8 pm CST: 9 pm EST: 10 pm

Tuesdays

o #Faithlitchat 6-7pm PST (9-10pm EST)
o #kidlitchat PST: 6 pm MST: 7 pm CST: 8 pm EST: 9 pm
o #poettues Usually begins around 10 am EST.
o #tuesday serial
o #IBCchat 4:30pm PST (starts Tue Oct 12, 2010)

Wednesdays

o #LitChat PST: 1-2 pm MST: 2-3 pm CST: 3-4 pm EST: 4-5 pm
o #memoirchat Every other Wednesday at 8 p.m. EST.
o #ThrillerChat PST: 5 pm MST: 6 pm CST: 7 pm EST: 8 pm
o #WNW PST: 5-8 pm MST: 6-9 pm CST: 7-10 pm EST: 8-11 pm
o #YALitChat PST: 6 pm MST: 7 pm CST: 8 pm EST: 9 pm

Thursdays

o #bookmarket PST: 11-12 am MST: 12-1 pm CST: 1-2 pm EST: 2-3 pm
o #JournalChat PST: 11am -12 pm MST: 12-1 pm CST: 1-2 pm EST: 2-3 pm
o #kidlitart PST: 6-7 pm MST: 7-8 pm CST: 8-9 pm EST: 9-10 pm
o #poetry Thursdays – PST: 6-7 pm MST: 7-8 pm CST: 8-9 pm EST: 9-10 pm
o #scribechat PST: 6-7 pm MST: 7-8 pm CST: 8-9 pm EST: 9-10 pm
o #MGlitchat PST: 6-7 pm MST: 7-8 pm CST: 8-9 pm EST: 9-10 pm

Fridays

o #followreader PST: 1-2 pm MST: 2-3 pm CST: 3-4 pm EST: 4-5 pm
o #fridayflash
o #LitChat PST: 1-2 pm MST: 2-3 pm CST: 3-4 pm EST: 4-5 pm
o #platformchat PST: 11-12 am MST: 12-1 pm CST: 1-2 pm EST: 2-3 pm
o #scifichat PST: 11-2 pm MST: 12-2 pm CST: 1-3 pm EST: 2-4 pm
o #StoryFriday
o #FridayReads

Saturdays

o #FLitChat 7-7:30pm (CST)
o #ScreenwritingSaturday
o #UFchat PST: 3pm MST: 4pm CST: 6 pm EST: 6pm

Sundays

o #scriptchat PST: 5 pm MST: 6 pm CST: 7 pm EST: 8 pm
o #storycraft PST: 3 pm MST: 4 pm CST: 5 pm EST: 6 pm
o #writechat PST: 12-3 pm MST: 1-4 pm CST: 2-5 pm EST: 3-6 pm

Other

o #WhatAreYouReading
o #YoungtoPub

Post to Twitter

One Response to “ YPG Digital Hosts Twitter Hackathon ”

  1. Cincopa video hosting solution for your website. Another great product from Cincopa Send Files.

    […] YPG Digital Hosts Twitter Hackathon | Young to Publishing Group Be Sociable, Share! Tweet This entry was posted in Twitter Basics, Twitter Marketing […]